Stepping out of your comfort zone.

 2015 has been a crazy year for me and I’ve learnt a lot of things, but one thing that I’ve learnt this year, is to step out of my comfort zone. 

How many times have you said ‘No’ to something that would have taken you out of your comfort zone and then later on found yourself thinking ‘what if?’ 

I’ve been in that situation way too many times, so I set myself a new years resolution to step out of my comfort zone. 

I guess you could say that over the year, yes I did things that I wouldn’t normally do, but they were still in the comfort of my friends in school. During my GCSE’S in Spring/Summer, I decided to leave School and go to college.This mean’t leaving the majority of my school friends behind that I had made so many memories with over the past 5 years, to go to a place that I had never been before and to be around people I have never met before.

So September came around and I was about to start my first day of college. I remember being very scared. It was the first day of my life that I woke up for ‘school’ and my friends wouldn’t be there, but I knew it was the start of the next two years of my life so I had to throw myself into the situation and just learn to cope with it.

(This is going to sound so cheesy but just bear with me) Since I made new friends and I settled in at College I feel like ‘a new person’ (That was the cheesy part) I’ve become a lot more confident within myself and I’m enjoying life a lot more than what I originally was and the people around me have noticed it.

Don’t get me wrong, I miss my old school and my friends, and I was very scared about leaving but in a way I’m so glad I did because it’s made me so much happier and my new friends are fab.

Stepping out of my comfort zone has created so many new opportunities and experiences for me, for example I had my first indoor competition in Sheffield, something that before I would never do because it would have been out of my comfort zone.

So If your ever in a situation where you aren’t sure on whether you should do something that is out of your comfort zone. Say Yes. Go and enjoy life, the only way you will thoroughly enjoy life Is by stepping out of your comfort zone. 

 
4 thoughts on “Stepping out of your comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

